Make your own free website on Tripod.com

CORBALLY RIVER PEOPLE & LIMERICK'S ABBEY FISHERMEN

SAND COTS

ABBEY FISHERMEN
TOOLS OF THE TRADE
INNURES AND DRAWS
THE BATTLE OF THE TAIL RACE
RIVER POEMS
CORBALLY
CURRAGHGOWER 1951
CORBALLY REGATTA 1952
CORBALLY REGATTA 1953/54
ABBEY REGATTA 1977/78
MARATHON BOAT RACE
SAND COTS
RELAXING ON THE RIVER
LINKS

SHANNON NAVIGATION TERMINAL IN LIMERICK
sandcotscanal.jpg
Photo lent to W. Lysaght 1974 courtesy of M. Quilligan

The barges from here went as far as Lough Allen. Lock Mills can be seen on the extreme left. The derelict building (left background) was a brewery. The headquarter of the Limerick Sand Co. was also here. The sand cots can be seen unloading their sand which was dredged at Plassey. The sand cots were then towed by manpower from the head of the canal and their contents sold for two shillings a horseload delivered. All C.I.E. traffic ceased on 31st December 1959. Guinness operated here till 1960. The last barge from Limerick - 51M - left St. James' Harbour, Dublin in 1960. Passengers boats to Dublin operated from here in the early 19th century. The "Bard of Thomond" started his apprenticeship at Lock Mills.

A VIEW OF THE ABBEY RIVER IN SIR HARRY'S MALL 1922
sandcotanglingcot.jpg

The boat nearest the camera is the traditional "Brocaun" as used by the Abbey fishermen. Beind this can be seen another boat, the Sand Cot, which brought river sand from Corbally or Plassey and unloaded at this spot - hence the reason for calling this Mall the Sand Mall.
In the large house (two chimneys) on the right J. Ferrar, the Historian lived for some time, his History of Limerick was written there. Note a shop front in the right background with a white entableture, this was McInerney's pub, which was burned in reprisal by the Black and Tans as the proprietor was the driver of the car which went to Banna Strand to meet Roger Casement.

LOADED SAND COT AT CANAL HARBOUR, LIMERICK
loadedsandcots.jpg
photo courtesy Frawley Family

sandcots1.jpg

.

Enter supporting content here